OS Grid ref:- SX 173 516
Lansallos, known in Cornish as Lansalwys, meaning St Salwys' church, lies between the villages of Polruan and Polperro on the north east Cornish coast.
A settlement of ancient origin, Lansallos is mentioned in the Domesday Book as the manor of Lansalhas and was owned by Robert, Count of Mortain, the half-brother of King William the Conqueror. The village takes its name from a monastery dedicated to St Salwys. Little is known about St. Salwys, he probably lived some time in the ninth century.
The village church, which dates to the fourteenth century is dedicated to St Ildierna. It is situated on an elevated position some 514 feet above sea-level, the present church succeeded a Norman church which occupied the same site .
The interior boasts a fine carved wagon roof and a square font dating from the Norman era which is decorated with a tree of life. The English oak benches and bench ends, of which 34 remain, date back to the sixteenth century, with the carvings on the bench ends mostly crafted between 1490 and 1520. There are also Jacobean vestment cupboards.
The beach at Lansallos overlooks Lantic Bay. This south facing beach of sand and shingle is a few miles away from east of Pencarrow Head. It is a small, sheltered, sand and shingle beach which is reached by a half mile walk from the Lansallos car park in Lansallos village. The beach, which never gets too crowded, slopes gently down to the water's edge and is surrounded by scenic cliffs. Dogs are allowed all year on the beach. No lifeguard cover is available. There is a small waterfall on the eastern side of the beach known as Reed Water which was once used to power a small mill.