OS grid reference :- SW 9245
The village of Tregony, on the Roseland Peninsula, lies on the River Fal and is known as the 'gateway to the Roseland'.
About 700 years ago Tregony was a busy port when Truro hardly existed. The Church of St James at Tregony was built in the eleventh century by the Norman Pomeroy family whose castle once stood at Tregony.
The Pomeroy family owned the Manor of Tregony together with others in Devon, including Berry Pomeroy. William , Hugo and Radulph, sons of Roger de Pomeroy, assisted William The Conqueror in the Norman conquest of England. Hugo is believed to have killed at the the Battle of Hastings. In the aftermath of the battle, Radulphus was bestowed a considerable amount of land and holdings in England. According to the Domesday Survey in 1086 as Radulphus De La Pommeraie, he received 58 Lordships in the County of Devon, 3 in Somerset, and 2 in Cornwall. At the same time, their sister Beatrix became Abbess of The Benedictine Abbey at St Michaels Mount which she held for William.
The church was abandoned in the early sixtenth century as it had been submerged by the tidal river due to the building of Tregony Bridge in around 1300 which led to deposits accumulating on the riverbed. The church valuables were removed to nearby Cuby Church, sometime between 1530 and 1553. Cuby church then began to be used as the parish church. The stone from the Norman building was gradually taken by locals and no remains were visible by the early twentieth century.
Cuby church is now parish church of Tregony and is dedicated to St Cuby and St James. St Cuby was the son of Solomon, ruler of Cornwall in around the year 350. Cuby became a follower of St Hilary and was an important figure in the conversion of Roman Britain to Christianity.
Fore Street in the village has unusual clock tower (pictured right), there are also almshouses dating back to the seventeenth century which boast an unusual wooden gallery. The village has shop which also serves as the post office. The Kings Arms in Fore Street has built a reputation for excellent food and a friendly atmosphere.
The site of a twelfth century Norman castle known as 'Treg-ney' from which the village derives its name is located on Tregony Hill.