Bodmin Moor
North Cornwall
Atlantic Coast
South Cornwall
The Lizard Peninsula
Roseland Peninsula
South East Cornwall
Cornish Riviera
Isles of Scilly
Legends Of Arthur
Cornish Language
Pirates, Smugglers
and Wreckers

Bodmin Moor
Boscastle Museum
of Witchcraft

Bossiney Cove
Camel Trail
Chapel Amble
Constantine Bay
Crackington Haven
King Arthur's Great
Halls Tintagel

Lanydrock House
Lawrence House
Merlin's Cave
Pencarrow House
Pentargon Waterfall
Port Isaac
Port Quin
Prideaux Place
Rocky Valley
Saint's Way
St. Nectan's Glen
Tamar Valley
Otter Sanctuary

Tintagel Castle
Tintagel Village
Tintagel Old
Post Office

Trebarwith Strand
Trevose Head

Trebarwith Strand

OS Grid ref:- SX051890

Trebarwith StrandTrebarwith Strand, (sometimes shortened locally to The Strand) is known in Cornish as Trebervedh Sian and is situated on the northern coast of Cornwall.

The Strand lies around 11 miles from the market town of Wadebridge and two and a half miles (4 km) to the south of dramatic Tintagel Castle, which folklore claims to be the birthplace of the legendary King Arthur. It was the scene of the shipwreck of the Sarah Anderson in October 1886 when all on board perished. Malachi's Cove or The Seaweed Children, a film based on a story by Trollope was filmed largely at Trbarwith Strand.

The cove contains an 800 metre long sandy beach, surrounded by cliffs, which contain natural caves. Rugged Gull Rock, almost reminiscent of a dogs head rising from the ocean, lies about 600 yards offshore and greatly enhances the picturesque setting of the beach. Atlantic winds provide excellent surfing in the area and the sands are a delight for children. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. The beach is completely covered at high tide for several hours.

A dead-end road (B3263) which leads down a narrow valley from the Tintagel to Camelford provides the only vehicular access to the beach and car parking is extremely limited in high season. Trebarwith Strand may also be reached along the South West Coast Path. The footpath passes boreholes and other remnants of the cliff quarry workings which were in operation in the area from the fifteenth century up to the commencement of the Second World War.

Trebarwith StrandThe village which stands on the higher ground to the south of the valley also the name of Trebarwith. Trebarwith is first recorded in the thirtreenth century and was under the ownership of the Lercedekne family from 1329 until the early sixteenth century.

The Port William Inn,which nestles into the cliffs overlooking Trebarwith Strand lies on the famous South West Coast Path. It is a very popular watering hole for walkers. The Port William is an excellent pub and restaurant which is renowned for superb pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. The Strand café provides a range of freshly prepared food and home made cakes. There is also a small surf shop. Trebarwith Farm is a Grade II listed building.


Take the A39 from Wadebridge north to Camelford. At Camelford take the B3266 (signposted to Boscastle) and follow the B3266 from Camelford. Turn left onto the B3314 where signposted to Tintagel. Stay on the B3314 for a short distance and then turn right onto the B3263 (signposted to Trebarwith Strand). Continue on this road for several miles until a left turning for Trebarwith Strand. Follow this road down the valley to the Strand.

The Cornish Landscape

Cornish Towns and Villages